NCA was established in 1959 by the NCA Ordinance No 413 of 1959 as a multiple land use area, designated to promote the conservation of natural resources, safeguard the interests of NCA indigenous residents and promote tourism..

NCA is a unique protected area in the whole of Africa where conservation of natural resources is integrated with human development.
Reputed to be one of the wonders of the world and included in the list of Mixed World Heritage Sites in 2010, this 8,292sqkm Conservation Area named after its central feature – the Ngorongoro Crater which is about 20km wide, is the one of the world’s largest intact volcanic caldera. The 260sqkm and 600m deep crater provides an extraordinary natural sanctuary to some of Africa’s densest population of large mammals. Its habitat is very diverse including Serengeti plains that support about 2.0 millions migratory wildlife species of the Serengeti Mara-ecosystem and  the Northern Highland Forest Reserve (NHFR) which is a the catchment forest known as ‘Entim Olturot’ in Maa language.servation Area…Read More

Ngorongoro Crater

Oldupai Gorge

Empakai Crater

Laetoli footprints

Shifting sands

Olmoti Crater

Lake Natron

Lukale Waterfalls

Engare Sero

Engaruka basin

Eyasi basin

Olkarien Gorge

Breathing mountain

Olpul Meat


Nasera Rock

Mbushi Sacred Cave